Made it

Just 15 minutes before the Church of the Beatitudes closed, a bedraggled and dusty traveler staggered in. Though portions of my last full hiking day were rather restful, such as my time absorbing all the water I could at a gas station following a lengthy and misguided hike through the nearby pomegranate and olive tree fields, the end was not. My conversation the night before asking about a room must’ve been forgotten and my backup plan of taking the local bus into Tiberias fell through because it was Saturday. They don’t run on Shabbat. My last option was my previous night’s hostel manager, who was kind enough to pick me up and bring me back to stay once again at the Yarok Az Ecolodge. More pictures and mini-stories will follow, but suffice it to say that I have completed the Jesus Trail. Now I need to start planning the next leg of my journey. I’m looking southward toward Jerusalem, the West Bank, and possibly the desert beyond.

20130717-143554.jpg

4 thoughts on “Made it

  1. Oh, Nick every time I hear your stories I get all nervous. I’m just so glad you share them after their somewhat over or else I’d be a nervous wreck.
    Congratulations on finishing the Jesus Trail. I’m sure you’ll never forget those long hikes. And I’ll check back to see where you go next.
    Praying for you big bro!

    • Thanks, Javon! I’m sure most of the smaller, only slightly harrowing events will disappear into the mists, but hopefully some of the better ones will make for good stories.

  2. Oh. my. goodness. Hezekiah’s tunnel was ENDLESS…even from my soft chair. I’m so thankful I didn’t have to walk that. The Disney World of Israel. God’s blessing on the rest of the journey.

    • Thanks, Gail! It did feel a bit claustrophobic at times, but the cool water at my feet and the crazy kids behind me definitely kept me going. One of the more beautiful moments came when the church group in front of me began to sing Amazing Grace softly as a sign they were coming to the end. The echoes went on and on.

Leave a Reply

